Introduction Election FAQs Register Review Or Update Build Your Sample Ballot US House District – KY3 Metro Mayor Race 2018 Metro Council Candidates & Map 30th District Judicial Candidates State Candidates & Maps Jefferson County Offices Louisville Neighborhoods Map Election Precincts & Map 2018 Election Polling Voter Registration Statistics Louisville Crime Data Sean Delahanty Videos Election Results ×

Louisville Metro Mayor

The city of Louisville utilizes a strong mayor and city council system. In this form of municipal government, the city council serves as the city’s primary legislative body and the mayor serves as the city’s chief executive.

The mayor serves as the city’s chief executive. He or she is responsible for proposing a budget, signing legislation into law, appointing departmental directors and committee members and overseeing the city’s day-to-day operations. The mayor also represents the city on the state, national and international levels. Greg Fischer is the current mayor of Louisville.

Fun Fact: Louisville hasn’t had a Republican mayor in over 50 years 

Greg Fischer

Democrat Greg Fischer


Elected Metro Mayor in 2010, re-elected 2015

Greg Fischer, incumbent mayor is seeking a third term as mayor. Angela Leet a metro council member is challenging him.

Each candidates website is linked below their picture.  News coverage of the mayoral race is available at Vote Louisville.

Angela Leet

Republican Angela Leet


Elected in 2014 to Metro Council for District 7

[custom-twitter-feeds screenname=”louisvillemayor”]

[custom-twitter-feeds screenname=”angelaleet”]

Additional Independent Candidates On Ballot

Douglas Edward LATTIMORE
Isaac Marion THACKER IV.
Jackie GREEN

Site Poll

Who would you vote for if the mayoral election were held today?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

Mayoral Election News

No posts found.

Related posts